Taking my writing (not so) seriously.

Image

 By Ahmad Jenkins

While I love being a writer there are times where I do tend to take myself far too seriously. Of course I’m not saying this profession is easy, actually it can be very demanding. The more devoted, and the more you love every aspect of your job; the more demands you find yourself trying to fulfill.

When I first started to embark upon becoming a writer I really had no idea as to the reality of a writers daily habits in order to be truly successful, something I’m still working to get down myself. I’ve also made many ‘newbie’ mistakes, the first was signing up and attempting to work with content mills. I soon learned that while content mills provide plenty of work  for those who are in need of it, which is good for those who are willing to deal with the literally writing for pennies, and dealing with ridiculously short deadlines which leave very little time for properly researching and writing quality material.

Needless to say I kicked the Content mill bug fairly quickly.  As many other writers I’ve interacted with have also commented, you’ll find work; but you seldom are given the opportunity to put your best into the projects you take on.

I’ve learned to take my writing ‘not so’ serious.  In other words while some people may find it better to produce quantities of content for pennies, Quality is always better. I’m not saying don’t worry about deadlines, rather not allowing them to take life out of the work that we do as writers.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

